Top 5 Favorite Movies About Music

I’ve been in a music mood lately and since I’m creating a playlist post for this week, I thought that this week’s (late) T5F post will be all about my favorite movies about music.

 1. Jersey Boys
The story of four young men from the wrong side of the tracks in New Jersey who came together to form the iconic 1960s rock group The Four Seasons.

I absolutely loved this movie and it definitely exceeded my expectations. Going into it I thought it was going to be another cheesy musical type movie, but it was more about the Four Seasons’ story as a band with performances/recordings of their songs throughout. I also really liked that they used some of the guys from the Jersey Boys musical. John Lloyd Young was my favorite singing-wise, and Vincent Piazza was my favorite acting-wise.

2. Empire Records
The employees of an independent music store learn about each other as they try anything to stop the store being absorbed by a large chain.

It’s Rex Manning day! Honestly, I feel like this is one of those movies that everyone should see (along with like every John Hughes movie). It’s really a fun movie about a bunch of teens who work at a record store. It makes me wish to have friends like these guys and also work in a record store. (it’s actually a dream of mine to open up a used record/book store one of these days)

 3. That Thing You Do
A Pennsylvania band scores a hit in 1964 and rides the star-making machinery as long as it can, with lots of help from its manager.

Written by, directed by, and starring Tom Hanks, That Thing You Do is an enjoyable film about a one-hit wonder pop band named The Oneders. I don’t think I can find one bad thing about this movie. There are a lot of good comedic moments in the film (mainly from Steve Zahn) and it’s all pretty well acted. This is a movie that the whole family can watch and enjoy together.

 4. Whiplash
A promising young drummer enrolls at a cut-throat music conservatory where his dreams of greatness are mentored by an instructor who will stop at nothing to realize a student’s potential.

This was one of my favorite movies of 2014. J.K. Simmons and Miles Teller did such an incredible job in this film, and it deserved all of the awards that it received.

 5. The Doors
The story of the famous and influential 1960s rock band and its lead singer and composer, Jim Morrison, from his days as a UCLA film student in Los Angeles, to his untimely death in Paris, France at age 27 in 1971.

It’s not the best movie, but my love of both Jim Morrison and Val Kilmer is why I like this movie so much. I remember having to take a break in between because it seemed so long. Val Kilmer does such a great job at playing Morrison and it’s probably one of my favorite of his movies as well.

Gif Credit: 1,2,3

Leave a Reply

